Panda Worries

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

IzzysGuppies

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm a newbie to this site, and to fish. We have recently got a 60l tank all set up for my daughter's birthday :) . Since deciding to do this I've tried to read as much as possible, but I'm sure I've still so much to learn :huh: . We cycled the tank for 2 weeks then went and got 2 male guppies (Ewan and Charley)and 2 panda cories (Dick and Dom) to start it all off. The tank also has 3 plants in for the cycling period, 2 bits of bog wood type wood with hidy places and more recently a fake rock with holes to swim through and fake plants on it.

We got the fish Friday late afternoon, left the light off and didn't feed until the morning. All seemed to be going well until monday evening when after getting worried about one of the pandas not moving for a long time, I gently prodded it and it just rolled over on its side really quite dead :sad: . I had been getting a bit worried as one had been getting less and less active. Husband tested the tank again that night, ph ok, nitrates 10ppm, ammonia 0ppm, nitrite between 0 and 0.25. Do you think this is what finished the panda off? The room get a bit warm on the Sat eve, so my 24degrees became more like 26degrees.