Guppy issues? Pictures inc.

letssetup

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to keeping tropical fish, mine have always been cold water fish, so appologise if the following questions sound stupid.

So, my first question is about this Guppy. It was always swimming around, however in the last couple of days it will just stay in a corner, like it is here next to filter. It will come out for food but other than that, just stays hidden.

I've read about them sometimes doing this when pregnant, could this be the case? I've got 3 Guppys.
IMG_20200808_111925.jpg
IMG_20200808_111923.jpg

My final question is regarding the other two that I've got, the gold one will keep chasing the black one. Then sometimes it's the other way round, but they are like it 80% of the time.

Is this normal or do they need separating?
IMG_20200808_111944.jpg

The one that's hiding behind the filter looks to be a male, but need a clearer shot with him/her in focus to be able to tell for sure. The orange one looks to be male but also need a better shot, the dark one is definitely male.

Get those better photos so we can be sure of sexes, since one female with two males would be in for a bad time. If it's an all male tank (or even a colony tank with more than one male) or it's a male courting a female, some chasing is normal. If the chasing is relentless though and fish are getting stressed, then it needs to be fixed.

The one hiding by the filter isn't likely to be there because it's gravid. For one, I think it's a male, and for two, even gravid females don't tend to hide away until they're in labour, by which time they're huge and round and unmistakably gravid. Hiding in a corner by the filter usually indicates something else is wrong, often the water quality.

Your tank looks very new, how long has it been running and what are the water test results?