Guppies + Goldfish - Finrot, Spots On Tail, Bloat? :( Lots Of Pics :)

Headless

Reaction score
Hello everyone.
I'm new to the arena of keeping fish (as is obvious by my post in this particular forum, I suppose). Sadly, due to the passing of a family member, my wife and I recently inherited a goldfish that was being kept in a 1 gallon bowl with no aeration. When we found the fish, he had gone over 2 weeks without a water change in that bowl, and was gasping for air while staying otherwise motionless. Of course, we had no idea what we were doing but we wanted to keep the fish and make him happy... so off to the LFS we went, and bought a 10 gallon tetra setup with the whisper 10 and a small 50w heater. Of course, the LHS also said that we should add some more fish to the tank, and being complete newbies, we bought 8 cobra guppies too, thus severely overstocking the tank.

I did some reading about acclimating fish to a new tank and carefully drip acclimated him and moved him into the 10 gallon tank along with his new guppyfriends from the fish store. We put some plants in it and thought we had solved the problem of his water quality.

After 3 days in the new tank, one of the two front pectoral fins on our goldfish turned black, assumedly because of ammonia burning from the horrific water quality in the bowl he had been kept in. At that time, I did a bunch of in-depth reading about fish keeping and learned about the nitrogen cycle. I bought a master test kit from API and started daily 50% water changes to keep ammonia levels under control. Over the course of the following 2 weeks, 3 things happened.

1. One of our guppies died. She/he started hanging around right on the surface all the time and had a very large belly. In our newb-ness, we thought she was pregnant and didn't put the surface-hugging together with distress.
2. Oscelot (goldfish) recovered from the black fin/ammonia burn
3. Oscelot developed tiny little white spots ONLY ON HIS TAIL.