Could someone please verify my levels

Goose3080

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Could someone please verify my levels in a planted freshwater aquarium, as im still fairly new to this hobby (5 or 6 months in), I think they are OK, but just double checking.

Ammonia (NH3) = 0
Nitrite (NO2) = 0
Nitrate (NO3) = 10 or 20 (its hard to decipher between the 2 colours as they look the same)
PH = 7.5
KH = 4 (I thought about using a bit of crushed coral to get this up a bit, but it will also raise PH levels which I dont want, so used some Tetra Easy Balance this morning)
GH = 8
Oxygen (sample taken from the bottom of the tank) = colour is between 5 and 8mg/l

Thanks

Those results are ok. Don't use additives, they are rarely needed. Lots of fresh clean water is best for fish.
What fish are you keeping? This matters as pH and GH requirements differ.

Those results are ok. Don't use additives on a whim, they are rarely needed. Lots of fresh clean water is best for fish.
What fish are you keeping? This matters as pH and GH requirements differ.

Thanks, ive got:

5 Neon tetra's
5 Glowlight Tetra's
5 Guppies
4 what look like tiger barbs, but are smaller and friendly, can never remember what they are called.
1 Bristlenose catfish, (still a baby)
2 Hill stream loaches (still babies)
2 Dwarf Gourami's
1 weather loach
1 African Black Dwarf Frog.

The water is very slightly acidic, I can feel it when I put my hand in the tank if I have a small wound on my hand, I work in the printing industry and paper cuts are very common lol.

Thank you. All levels are fine but monitor nitrate.

Obviously 0 is required for ammonia and nitrite so good news there.

If the nitrate reads 20, you need to increase water changes and/or reduce feeding as 20 should be the maximum, the lower you can get it, the better. If you have nitrate in the tap water this is a different scenario.

KH 4 is enough to buffer levels without any need for adding coral.