What size tank???

Kryten

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I am new to keeping tropical fish (so far as I am saving up for my first tank as we speak). What size, in litres would be a good starter tank. I want to keep (probably) 6 neon tetras, 2 or three pygmy cory (or albino cory) catfishes and 6 lemon tetras. Would 30 litres be enough or will I need bigger

Also, does everyone recommend undergravel filters, as the books I have seem a bit unsure

Any advice you have would be appreciated

The bigger the better. I would suggest a bigger tank. Bigger tanks are easier to care for, and allow more room for newbie errors. Also gives more options on what to put in your tank.

I would get a biowheel mini > a undergravel filter.

The biggest one you can afford - small tanks are more difficult to maintain and you need to do water changes more often. And, once you've been bitten by the fish bug, you'll want bigger and better ones :p

My next question is how do the undergravel filters work exactly? As they are under the gravel, this makes cleaning them impossible? I'm confused. I have read books that mention them but are not very descriptive

Personally I don't like undergravel filters - especially if you want a planted tank. Have you thought of getting a different type of filter?

I read they aren't good for plants. If I get a different type of filter, I guess that the cory's I want to get will clear the excess food from the bottom. What sort of filter will be best?

I know I ask many questions but I want to get this right as best as possible

Thanks