What Made You Decide To Set Up An Aquarium?

Platy lover

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I am curious, what made you guys decide to set up aquariums? I did because my friend gave me a betta which bit me with the fish bug and I begged my parents to let me keep fish. They gave me a 2.5 gallon then I won a goldfish at a fair and I read they needed at least a 20 gallon filtered aquarium. They bought me a 29 gallon aquarium after my goldfish died and I have never looked back. I had a few bump in the roads with it but I am still learning

My brother had a tank, so I wanted one!

Westwood

I had a small space on my desk that I just wanted a goldfish for. My sisters both had fish tanks some years ago, without a filter or any of that and they survived a surprisingly long time, especially knowing what I know now.

My plan was just to go with a fish in a bowl, but as I did more and more research and discovered that goldfish NEEDED a filter, and the only difference between goldfish and tropical fish was a heater, it quickly evolved to the point where I was buying my 60L tank.

I had fish as a kid and it lasted 10 years, then 1 time I moved house and never moved the tank with it. So I didn't have any fish for over 10 years and had no plans to re-start the hobby.

Then the hotukdeals site showed that Aldi had a complete set-up for £40 and I couldn't resist. 5 more tanks quickly followed...

Morbid as it sounds my brother died this day last year and my wife bought me my 1st tank to help me relax and take my mind off things.

i had some fish in a small tank that shouldnt have been in there, and i had an old 4ft snake tank in the attic.

solution - 4ft fish tank.

The way my husband wrote it in our Christmas letter: "....and for my birthday (insert my name here) got herself an aquarium!"

What I say: "...but he got to choose the fish"! lol