Sid's 60L Attempt

sid_zie

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at a journal and a first ‘proper’ attempt at a planted tank.

I have asked some pre-set up questions already and got some helpful answers. So as some background/plans (from my other post, before deciding to start a journal):

“I have an old Orca TL-450, which will be totally stripped out (take out all the filer/stuff in the back and take the lid off – the lights have gone, and the fans were horrible – so it’ll basically just be the glass box part of it).

Ideally I would like something that’s low tech – I’m happy to use a DIY yeast based CO2 system (if needed) and maybe go from there.

Plant-wise, I’m not really sure – easy to grow things really, perhaps some moss, maybe something to carpet the bottom (I’m open to suggestions). I will hopefully being using some bogwood and aim for a natural look.

Lighting – I have no idea – the tank is around 400mm wide. Can anyone recommend what sort of light, power, etc would be suitable (and fit)?

Filtration – Again no really sure, I was going to get an external filter. Would I be aiming for about 10x turnover? The tank holds around 58 litres – so again, any recommendations?

Substrate – I have some old Eco Complete from a previous tank (all washed and stored) – would that still be ok?

Stocking – I have some black neons that I will move over from other tank – I may add some more of those. Perhaps some cherry red shrimps. And maybe some Otos.”

From this, with help from Minnnt, Steveo and SLIM (thanks), I have decided on/ordered:
Arcadia Ellipse 18W freshwater light
TetraTEC EX 600
Use my old EcoComplete – although I may need a top up with just some black sand
Not to add my black neons – get something a bit smaller (a small shoal), add some cherry red shrimps and otos (but at a later stage when the tank is more mature/has grown some algea).
Not to use DIY CO2. Instead to dose with Flourish excel and Tropica Plant Nutrition (TPN+).