Ro Top Up Water - Pure Or With Minerals ?

nilocmal

Reaction score
when you add ro water to top up a tank's evaporated water, do you add pure ro, or ro with minerals ?

i've been doing the latter for 5 months, and just noticed my tank's ph has dropped to 7.8 from a steady 8.3 in pre ro days. calcium has also shot up to 480 from a steady 400 in pre ro days.

my fault for being over confident and not testing the water for a while of course. the tank itself seems happy enough, except for a recent outburst of algae - hairy green stuff on the sides and nasty looking red / brown stuff all over the sand on the bottom. hence the recent water test with worrying results.

all other readings seem fine though:
amonia - 0
nitrite - 0
nitrate - 5
sg - 1.022
phosphate - 0

so from now on, pure ro, ro with minerals, something else - what do you reckon guys ? all advice greatly appreciated people.

Pure RO. Salt mixes are designed to mix with pure water that does not have solutes/minerals in it. You could be unknowingly playing with your chemistry balance by using the re-mineralized water.

thing is though, doesn't pure RO have an even lower ph than RO with minerals added, in which case the ph in my tank is going to continue to drop through the floor unless i do something to artificially bring it back up again ?

here's the thing. i converted to marine last summer using de-chlorinated tap water. ph was a steady 8.3 from day 1 onwards. last december i started topping up with RO from the LFS in whose wisdom i trusted that minerals needed adding to the RO for this very purpose. at the same time i stopped testing the water, more fool me. :blush: then a few days ago tests show the tank's ph to be 7.8.

surely if i continue down this road, with or without minerals, the tank's ph is eventually going to match that of the RO i'm adding, which will gradually kill everything as i'll haver an acid bath instead of a reef tank ?