Questions On Black Ghost Knife Fish

BGKfish123

Reaction score
hi all, newbie here :)

i've been keeping and breeding different kinds of fish since 2008 - so i already know a lot on fish keeping.

my favorite fish has always been a black ghost knife ever since i saw one in my LFS a few years ago. But, im only getting around to planning on buying one now. :)

here are a few questions:

- Im thinking of getting the 'Juwel Rio 300' which is 350 litre (~90 US gallons) for just the one BGK no other fish will be in the tank. Many people say it is ok to keep them in a 75 gallon and up while others say it is minimum to keep them in a 120 gallon. so, for the people who have experience, - is a Juwel Rio 300 ok for just the one BGK?

- what (in your own opinion) would be the best aquascape? - for both live and non live plant setups?

- for live plant setup - what would be the easiest to keep plants?

- In your opinion - which lighting would you use for a single bgk - in my own opinion - i think a moonlight only (as the BGK has optimum sight in low lighting) what brand then do you think makes the best moonlight lighting (Juwel rio takes tubes only)

any further help or tips would be appreciated, thanks :)

hi all, newbie here :)

i've been keeping and breeding different kinds of fish since 2008 - so i already know a lot on fish keeping.

my favorite fish has always been a black ghost knife ever since i saw one in my LFS a few years ago. But, im only getting around to planning on buying one now. :)

here are a few questions:

- Im thinking of getting the 'Juwel Rio 300' which is 350 litre (~90 US gallons) for just the one BGK no other fish will be in the tank. Many people say it is ok to keep them in a 75 gallon and up while others say it is minimum to keep them in a 120 gallon. so, for the people who have experience, - is a Juwel Rio 300 ok for just the one BGK?

- what (in your own opinion) would be the best aquascape? - for both live and non live plant setups?