Question About Filters And Bacteria

dc1377

Reaction score
So this may be a dumb question, but I read the section on filters and it says never to rinse off a filter in chlorinated water as it will kill the essential bacteria. I'm now rinsing my filter out in the old fish water when I do water changes and I was wondering what happens when I change the filter? Is there something I should be doing when inserting a fresh filter? Why even change the filter at all - Why not just continue to rinse it out in the old water?

Also, doesn't the bacteria live all through the tank, not just in the filter cartridge, but in the gravel and such. I'm just looking for a little more education on filters and bacteria as I'm still kind of new to this.

Thanks - DC

You should never change the filter media. The filter manufacturers just tell you that to make more money off you.

Really... NEVER change the filter? I am talking about a carbon filter for a Marineland Penquin 100. It is the only filter that is in the tank. SHould I just continue to rinse it out indefinatly?

I will also have some more questions about filters as I will be upgrading my tank soon.

The carbon filter is only realy of use if you want to remove somthing specific from the tank, eg medicine.

Ditch it & use some more sponge, rings, balls or whatever is your prference, in its place.

Tom

Most of the bacteria live on the filter media. If you want to change your filter when it is falling apart add a new cartridge in with the old one for a few weeks. Than you can take the old one out and throw it away. The concept there was to "seed" the new filter media so you didn't change it completely.

But there is still bacteria in the tank, right? It doesn't all live in the filter? I'm not starting the cycle over when I change the carbon filter, am I?