Pictus

Breeze7050

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hi All! Im a bit of a newbie here and to fish keeping! Even still, I am hearing all kinds of different info about the pictus and would like some sound advice. I quite like this catfish and would like to add one to my 55g (to be semi-aggressive) tank. The measurements are 48 x 18 x 18.
Is it ideal to get more than 1 or just 1? I know they will eat smaller fish, but what about cory's or other bottom dwellers. Any info you have would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

We were told you could keep Pictus on their own but are best to keep 3 or more, so we brought 3. We keep them with a Snowball pleco, Magnum pleco, Green pleco, Bristlenose, Peckoltia and 13 Gouramis. We have had no problems with them at all and they are very active and playful fish. We haven't found them to be aggressive or territorial and I think they make a good community fish. Maybe other members have different opinions or experiences but like I said we have had no problems. Hope this helps!

That's a good sized tank (4ft and 55 gallons). Just make sure that the bottom of the tank isn't too crowded with decor and that there are enough open spaces for the pictus to cruise around. They spend most of their time on the substrate. One is fine, but if you have space, more would be better. They are fabulous fish :good:

Awesome, thanks guys! Would just 2 be okay?? Thanks again! If anyone else has any thoughts let me know! B)

Hi,

I was looking at originally setting up a South AMerican cichlid tank with a bunch of these guys, and i was told that they are happiest in groups of 6 or so. I also was told that they have a mad half hour everyday and that I shouldn't have them with timid fish as they would be too boisterous!

Apart from that, a fine looking catfish and now I'm on to a malawi tank instead, so it's syno's all the way!