Official Advice Topic

Ukfan

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I thought i'd start this topic and use it so everyone can read it if they have the same problem or if they would just read to get advice.
Just to let everyone know, I'm not a pro on fish keeping but I have done it for 7/8 months now :)

Cleaning Your Aquarium
Performing Your Weekly 10-15% Water Change

Equipment Needed: Bucket, siphon, Declorinator, Tap water Algae Scrub, Gravel Cleaner and Algae Magnet.

Method:

Remember: The better care you provide for your tank, the healthier your fish will be, the nicer your tank will look and the easier your tank will be to care for in the future

1. When you clean your aquarium, you should just remove (10-15%) of the water and replace it with fresh, dechlorinated tap water. Bowls and vases require larger water changes more often. While you are doing this, you should use your siphon to suck up some of the gunk that collects in the gravel and decorations. If you have an under gravel filter, it is very important to clean the gravel when you do your weekly water changes, this will prevent detritus and other decaying organic matter.

2. If you have algae growing on the surface of the tank or ornaments, you should get an algae scraper of some sort and scrub the glass before removing water. Many varieties of algae scrapers or scrubbers are available at your local pet store. For additional cleanliness, you could get algae eating catfish and/or scavengers to pick up some of this work for you, however, having catfish in the tank does NOT mean that you don't need to clean.