Newbie betta questions

jonnyc88

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I've got a 20L/5g open top tank lying around and might have a perfect place for a betta tank but I have a few questions, as I'm new to this species.

Nothing is certain at this point in time, I'm just gauging if it would be suitable.
The betta would be the only fish in the tank if I do go ahead.

Here goes my questions:
1) Is 20L/5g tank too small for single betta? Assuming there is no other fish in the tank
2) What heater to get in a 5G open top tank? My concern is that the water will evaporate. Do I need a cover?
3) What filter to get? I'm thinking of Eheim in-tank filters (something like pickup 45),something with gentle flow
4) Is it ok having silk plants in the tank? Otherwise, what plants are best for bettas?
5) For subtrate I plan to just use gravel. I have some in the garden which I will wash and clean. Is this ok or what would be the ideal substrate?
6) Assuming that I keep on top of water parameters, weekly water changes etc is there anything that I should be aware of concerning having a betta? Are they especially susceptible to anything?

I've got a 20L/5g open top tank lying around and might have a perfect place for a betta tank but I have a few questions, as I'm new to this species.

Nothing is certain at this point in time, I'm just gauging if it would be suitable.

Here goes my questions:
1) Is 20L/5g tank too small for single betta? Assuming there is no other fish in the tank
2) What heater to get in a 5G open top tank? My concern is that the water will evaporate. Do I need a cover?
3) What filter to get? I'm thinking of Eheim in-tank filters (something like pickup 45),something with gentle flow
4) Is it ok having silk plants in the tank? Otherwise, what plants are best for bettas?
5) For subtrate I plan to just use gravel. I have some in the garden which I will wash and clean. Is this ok or what would be the ideal substrate?