Hi, Stocking Advice Please

pink3

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie, who has really appreciated reading all the advice on this forum, so thank you.

I am currently fishless cycling a tank , ammonia is being dealt with in 24 hours but nitrites are still 5.0 so still a few weeks to go.

It is a ND Aquatics tank, 36" x 24" x 24", 290 litres. External filter - Eheim 2073. It has JBL aquabasis substrate and 1.5" of Nordic aqua gravel (2-4mm). It will be low tech planted.

I live in a hard water area and have a ph of 8.0.

I would like to create a peaceful community tank. I already have some fish which will be going into the tank - 4 platies (1M & 3F) and 5 zebra danios.

I would be most grateful if I could have some advice as to what other fish I could add.

Many thanks.

Pink3

You can do many different types of fish.

Corys or say zebra or khuli loaches on the bottom. A big school of cardinal tetras or other medium sized tetras or rasboras. A pair of bolivian rams or other apistogramma dwarf cichlids. Angelfish, a pair, although then pick your tetra or rasboras carefully. A pair of bristlenose plecos.

Just some ideas. See my 60 gallon for more ideas.

A big school of cardinal tetras or other medium sized tetras or rasboras.

Thanks Karin.

That's great that you think cardinals will be ok. I was worried they would be a no-no as my water is hard and alkaline (ph 8).

to be honest with you, most fish will be OK with ph 8

I myself have a ph of 7.5/8 and it isn't a problem, ask the LFS what their ph is if you're worried...

Acclimatising fish is a great way to go if the ph is massively different, just tie a knot in your siphon and let it drip into a bucket with the new fish for an hour or two...

You could look at maybe some bigger fish dwarf gouramis, or gouramis (honey etc) preferable 1 male with at least 1 female, Angelfish are always nice and shouldnt be a problem in a tank that size as small fish can escape lol