Fish rescue (and I'm new to kribs)

mbsqw1d

Fish Aficionado
Tank of the Month 🏆
Reaction score
So I took part in a fish rescue last night, a guy on here was giving away his setup (Roma 240) including the fish etc. My mate was happy to take the tank but wouldn't be setting it up until he moves house. So.. I said I'd take the fish. Arguably a bold (stupid) move ?

I collected:
6 x penguin tetra
4 x kribensis (2 x male, 2 x female)
1 x otto
1 x clown pleco (8 yrs old!)

These have all gone into my Roma 200 (52g)
24c (75f)
5.7 dGH
7 PH
--
20+ peppered corydoras, 10 x phantom tetra

I also obtained:
3 x dwarf chain loach
1 x hillstream loach

These have gone into my Roma 240 (62g)
21c (70f)
5.7 dGH
7 PH
--
12 x odessa barb, 13 x giant danio, 13 x golden barb

From first glance this morning,everything seems to have settled ok. The kribs however, in my opinion, seem a little bit cramped. I've got some cichlid caves arriving tomorrow however I'm not sure if thats going to cut it. Are 4 x kribs in a 52 gallon (3ft) too many? Do they work in pairs? If I were to rehome 1 male krib, would the 2 female with 1 male be ok?

I think I should look at getting some more ottos so its not alone.

Never had a pleco before, theres plenty of bogwood in there, but I presume algae wafers are the way forward?

If you had all the above fish and those two tanks, how would you set them up?

So I can’t help you out with the the cichlids . I’ve never had any besides convicts . But I can tell you that your tank is over stocked . General rule is one inch of fish to one gallon . So you need to keep up with water changes or you could have some problems very soon with a tank overstocked like that . But if your friend takes some when he sets up his tank . It shouldn’t be too bad for a little bit . As for the pleco . Bottom feeder pellets or wafers are just fine . If you’re lucky . He will live another four more years