Fish names and the dreaded Latin

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

GaryE

Staff member
Global Moderator ⚒️
Reaction score
I was recently looking at a thread where an aquarist, who may have way more experience than me, was talking about feeding plecos. Then I saw a thread about setting up for Cichlids. Now, I was an English teacher and am a writer, and I believe the words we use matter. It's not just a question of pickiness or snobbiness - it really affects whether or not we keep many fish properly.

Let's take pleco. It's a trade name. It isn't even English. so the "I want a name in my own language" argument fails. There is one fish called Hypostomus plecostomus. There are well over 600 Lorarariids called plecos in the trade (if they are even in the trade). Does it matter? In the over 60 Genera, there are radically different diet needs, water needs, social needs, etc. I suspect, based on years of talking to newer aquarists who like these fish, that thinking they are all just plecos with the needs of plecos has killed untold numbers of fish.

Cichlids - an enormous family from both Americas, Asia, Africa, the Middle East...yet we lump them together in their needs or decide that they like crowding like the Cichlids from one or two lakes in the vast, Cichlid filled continent of Africa do. If you say "Africans", an experienced keeper will have to pause and what to see which Africans. Which, lake, river system, stream, region - jumping in too quickly can lead to terrible advice being shared.

Type the trade name of the fish you want into google. Get the Latin name. Then use the Latin name to get much better info than an often local trade label will get. 10 minutes.