Fish compatibility and gender questions

roguelab

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to this thread and quite new to fish keeping! I have a few questions for the fish gurus which I would really appreciate some help with please :)

I have had a biorb life 60 tank for a few months now. The water stats are as follows: ammonia 0, nitrites 0, nitrates 0, ph about 7. I also have another very small 10 litre tank which is usually empty, but if I need to remove a fish for whatever reason, I use this as a separation tank. I will attach pictures for you to see.

I have been given bad advice from pet shops in the past and ended up having to give fish away or take them back to the store. In the 60litre tank there is currently a male betta (he does his own thing), a male swordtail, an electric blue ram (unusure on gender) and two mollies (one is definitely a boy, the other one I am not too sure of). I also had a male platy in there too, but he started to chase the swordtail so I have just removed him. I have also witnessed him nip the betta's fins before so he's on a second warning. I may give him a third chance, but if he blows it again, he will have to be rehomed.

Please can you tell me what gender my yellow molly is? The pet store keeps assuring me this molly is male, however it seems fat to me and the back lower fin looks like a female's fin in the pictures I've seen..

Do you think I should give the platy another chance?

What other fish can I add which are not likely to cause compatibility issues? I understand all fish have different personalities, but a guide for when I next go to the store would be a great help as I can't trust the pet stores! At one point I had two male dwarf gourami in the 60 litre tank because of the pet shop... safe to say that didn't last long, so I keep learning the hard way! Ideally I would prefer fish that can be in different colours, as it makes it easier for me to tell which is which from the other end of the living room.