First Time Breeding Bettas

Pugbrat

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello all,

It's my first time breeding bettas. I have successfully spawned my bicolor plakat pair.

I wanted to ask about mortality rate. It's kinda disappointing to see some fry dying.

Facts:
Estimate 150-200 fry.
2 and a half weeks old.
10 gallon tank.
BBS diet.
Lost 25 fry already.

Am I doing ok?

Hello all,

It's my first time breeding bettas. I have successfully spawned my bicolor plakat pair.

I wanted to ask about mortality rate. It's kinda disappointing to see some fry dying.

Facts:
Estimate 150-200 fry.
2 and a half weeks old.
10 gallon tank.
BBS diet.
Lost 25 fry already.

Am I doing ok?
[/quote

I hope the father is already separated. Then do frequent water change like 10-20% everyday add few drops of methyline blue so the water will be free from bacterias (though not 100%).

Don't overfeed the fry and you should have some live floating plants it's a big help.

Yep, I think 25 lost is a reasonable amount for such a large spawn in such an early stage. After 1 month, you should have very few, if any, losses. Some of the 25 deaths could be a result of underdeveloped swim bladders, not being big enough to eat the BBS, or just not strong enough. All in all, it's better for the weak fry that they die when they're young and pretty oblivious rather than dying as sick juveniles.

^_^ I can't wait to see pics of the babies as they grow! Just keep up on water changes, religiously, and feed them plenty and they should do well. Congrats!!

Thanks _cRaCkEr_, splashluff.

I have plants in the tank. The male stayed in the tank for only 5 days because the fry were free swimmimg early on. Doing water chage as well and meth blue routine. I do some very careful siphoning at the bottom as well.
I now have tennis elbow from doing that... and a sore back! :nerd: