External Filter

Tw3lv3

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hey guys im buying a new tank thursday and i want to update the filter to a fluval external filter but im unsure on which 1 to buy...

I am getting a 125 litre tank dimensions are 81cm x 36cm x 50cm

Here is a link to the website ill be buying the filter from can oy guys help me get the right 1 please? Fluval

cheers :)

If your gonna go for a fluval then the 205 should be sufficient, other model would be a tetratec ex700 or the equivilent eheim but someone else will have to help with which model ;)

jen

cheers jen :) if i get a fluval 305 instead of the 205 will it lighten to work load of the filter and be more efficiant?

For a tank that size you also have the option of a Rena Filstar XP1. They cost about the same as the Fluval 05 series around here but I find them more reliable than the reports that I have read on the Fluvals. I have no personal experience because I read the reviews first and just never tried one. I am sure that Eheim also makes a filter the right size for that tank but have never been tempted to spend enough to buy one.

cheers jen :) if i get a fluval 305 instead of the 205 will it lighten to work load of the filter and be more efficiant?

The 305 would work well, i have one on my rio 180 and it keeps it crystal and very well filtered, as oldman says the rena are supposidly good but i have no experience whatsoever... eheim is recommended for build quality but stay away from the ECCO range...... back to the fluval though, ive had various models old and new and never had a single issue, i have had problems with a TT ex 600 but that was just down to bad maintenance more than anythink.

Fluval gets my vote either way and the 305 would work well on the rio125 ;)