Day 27 Of Fishless Cycling And Still No Nitrites

aletas

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm new to the hobby and I really need some help please!

I started a fishless cycle on Sept 20, but I still haven't had any readings of nitrites and it's been almost a month.

On day 1, I added enough ammonia to the dechlorinated water in my 20 gallon tank to bring the ammonia level to about 5 ppm and set the heater to 85º. By day 7 the ammonia dropped to 1 and I added a bit more ammonia to bring the level up to 4, still 0 nitrites. A few days later the ammonia dropped to 2 and remained at 2 for about a week so I added ammonia to increase the level up to 4 again. This has been the pattern basically the last two to three weeks; the ammonia drops to 2 and remains at 2, then I add more ammonia to bring the level back up to 4. I use the API liquid test kits and I test the ammonia and nitrite levels everyday. About 10 days ago I changed the power filter that came with the aquarium to an AquaClear and that same day a relative gave me a mature filter sponge from one of his tanks to seed my new filter, but I'm not sure if it's helping yet.

Even though nitrites are still at 0, I tested the tank for nitrates a couple of days ago and got a reading of 5.0, and my tap water shows 0 for nitrates. How can there be nitrates without ever having any nitrites? Temp remains at 85º, PH in tank and tap water are both at least 7.6. (I don't have a high range PH kit yet.) An aerating "turtle" has been in the tank since the 2nd week. Water is clear, but there's a bit of brown algae growing on the suction cup that holds the thermometer.

What am I doing wrong? Should I drain the tank and start over or do a partial water change? Did I mess everything up by changing the power filter?

Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks.