"Best" Filter Media

OscarRomeoFiveTwo

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I have been researching different types of bio media for my new APS2000EF (and the existing HOB) and come across this page:

They completed an experiment with different types of media and the results were:

• A typical large canister filled with 30 ppi Poret foam (“sponge”), static K1 media or plastic pot scrubbers will give good ammonia oxidation with 700 five-inch mbuna and crystal clear, healthy water with 35 five-inch mbuna.
  • A typical large canister filled with ceramic rings, lava rocks or BioHome filter media will give good ammonia oxidation with 80 five-inch mbuna and crystal clear, healthy water with 4 five-inch mbuna.
So filling the canister with 30ppi foam is more effective then the traditional expensive bio media.

During looking at media I found that bio home media was always considered the "best" media and however these results say other wise?

Does anyone have any opinions on the "best" media or any other studies on what is to be concerned the best

I am a huge fan of Poret foam from Swiss Tropicals. I have several Hamburg Mattenfilters, many cubefilters and even one tower. The foam is available in 10, 20, 30 and 45 ppi.

The 10 ppi is great for the initial media the water passes through and for pre-filters and tank dividers. I use he 20 ppi for most tanks. I have never used the 45 and have minimal 30 ppi. The 30ppi is great for shrmp and fry tanks or the final media the water passes through. The higher the ppi the faster the media will clog.

I have had three Eheim Pro II canisters running for many years. The first one was set up with the Eheim media- noodles, coarse foam pad, their bio-media and their fine floss pad. The second one used a mix of noodles, coarse pad, AquaCLear sponges cut to fit the basket and thei fine floss pad. I clean these filters twice a year.