A Fish Tank For Children, Some Advice Please...

upsy daisy

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi,
I am new at this, so please be gentle...
smile.gif

We got our children a 55l fish tank and now are trying to figure out how to go about this fishless cycle business! Heater is on about 30C, gravel at about 8 cm, airstone is bubbling away, just switched off the lights as I read it may encourage algae (is this right?). The power filter that came with the tank has a sponge inside, is this a good filter material?

Do you have any advice on how many drops of ammonia should we be putting inside now? Should I add a few flakes of fish food for good measure or is this unnecessary?

How about plants? If we wanted some live ones (only a few), does it mean we need some sort of CO2 attachment? Any recommendations for plant food?

Can you recommend any hardy tropical fish for a small tank like this? Initially we planned on getting some neon tetras, are they easy to look after or are they not for a beginner?

TIA!

54 litre fishtank, sponge powerfilter, airstone on, gravel 8 cm,
current water temperature 28-29 C (85-86 F)

Regular tap water:
pH 7.1, ammonia 0, nitrite 0, nitrate 0-5

API Master Test Kit
added about 2.7 ml of ammonia
pm 15/3/10 pH 7.6, ammonia 4-5
pm 16/3/10 pH 7.5, ammonia 3, nitrite 1, nitrate 4-5
pm 17/03/10 pH 7.4, ammonia 3, nitrite 0.8, nitrate 4
pm 18/03/10 pH 7.5, ammonia 3, nitrite 0.6-0.5, nitrate 2-3
pm 19/03/10 pH 7.4-7.5 ammonia 1.9 nitrite 0.5, nitrate 2
added 1 tablespoon of bicarbonate of soda
pm 20/03/10 pH 7.4-7.5, ammonia 1.8, nitrite 0, nitrate 1-2
pm 21/03/10 pH 7.5, ammonia 1.3, nitrite 0, nitrate 1-2
pm day 8 pH 7.4, ammonia 0.9, nitrite 0, nitrate 0
pm day 9 pH 7.5, ammonia 0.6, nitrite 0, nitrate 0
pm day 10 pH 7.5, ammonia 0.7, nitrite 0, nitrate 0
pm day 11 didn't test
am day 12 ammonia 0.8, nitrite 0, nitrate 1
added clean water, cleaned filter sponge, messed with gravel (scooped some off)
pm day 12 pH 7.5, ammonia 0.25, nitrite 0, nitrate 1