Your Fishkeeping Mistakes, Accidents & Disasters?

Reaction score
While there are many great fish keepers on this forum and we are all in a state of learning about the hobby, i'm sure we've all made some pretty big mistakes or had accidents & disasters in the past! What are your most memorable fishkeeping related mistakes/accidents/disasters?
I've been keeping fish for about 8 years now and i am no exception, here are some of mine :blush: ;

1. Cracked fish tank
Back when i fist started keeping fish, i started off with a little 10gallon fish tank with 3 mollies. I was living with my guy at our 1st place which consisted of a tiny bedroom, tiny bathroom and shared tiny kitchen & big living room (there were 11 of us total living in the house). When i got my tank i duly set it up on the window sill, "cycled" it, added the fish and all was suprisingly well. Until one night i woke up to hear a "drip...drip...drip" noise. I didn't think much of it and went back to sleep. Then i woke up later and heard a "drip drip drip drip!" noise and as i looked over to my fish tank it had a couple of HUGE cracks running up it and some of the glass at the top was broken and the tank was already half empty of water!

It turned out that the window sill was quite uneven and over the 2/3months the tank had been sitting on it the uneven weight distribution had caused it to crack. So i had to put the fish in a bucket and quickly buy them a new tank the next day.

2. Electrocuted by fish tank.