Will Water Changes Ever Stop!?!?

G-skrilla

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Omg I have been moving water like dealers move crack. I'm sorry if that was a bad analogy, but something has got to give. I'm doing a fish in cycle. 20 gal. Live plants. 4 danios and a couple of pearl gouramis. I change the water twice a day. Morning and night. I'd say it's about a 50 % change everytime. I've been doing this now going on 4 weeks. My filter is brown with bacteria I guess. When will they start working. I just did a water change 10 min ago. About 80% and there's already .25ppm ammonia. 0 nitrite and 0 nitrate. I'm sure the fish will start kicking the bucket. I'm about to kick the bucket I'm doing water changes with. I have the zyme and ammo lock. What to do? My back hurts.

I am far from an expert but these are my thoughts.

A few things...

You are dechlorinating the water I hope. If you aren't that will prevent the bacteria from growing.

Assuming you are, I think you have too many fish in there. If you use fewer fish your tank will have its ammonium levels build slower.

Additionally, I think you are changing your water too often and too much.
I would recommend changing 10-15% of your water once every other day or once a day at most. Changing 80% of your water is going to cause a couple problems.

1) You are removing 80% of your nitrosomonas development. While the reproduction rate is high, you are significantly killing it.
2) You are removing too much ammonium. Doing the cycle with fish is ultimately poison for the fish but now that you have started it, you have to let them fight through higher levels of ammonium I think. Nitrosomonas will develop only if there is constantly an excess of ammonium. You need to have the levels reasonably high, have the bacteria start to replicate, establish a decent presence. If you are removing 80% of the ammonium you are never going to have a large enough bacteria base to deal with the ammonium levels your fish are producing.