What's your opinion?

BigLou

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I want to turn my empty 75 gal into a marine. It'll be running an Emperor 400 filter. I was wondering if you guys think I could be able to do it without a protein skimmer. I don't want to put a lot of fish, or any big fish right now. I've never done marine before, so i would start with small hardy marine fish (maybe clowns?) I figure with that heavy filtration, a couple of fish wouldn't be a problem for it. I was just going to do a regular sand bottom. I know I have to get the salt mix for marine tanks (I'll probably get Instant Ocean), but I was wondering how important it would be to R/O the water before I put it in. I don't have an R/O system, but I know somebody who does. I know my water here is pretty clean, but I also know that marine fish are very picky (for lack of a better word-I'm tired) about their water conditions. I may be leaving stuff out, it's late...but please let me know what you think.

HI and welcome to the marine section. GOod to hear you are considering the move to Marinelife. ;)

75 Gallon is a nice sized system and most fish can be kept in this size (maybe not the larger angel, tangs or larger trigggers).

I have never heard of the filter you intend to use so i really cant make acomment on that. You seem reluctant to use a skimmer? They are well worht the investment (depending on the filtration method you choose) but a system can be run without one. I would say that you would be able to setup the system without a skimmer but you will really need one within a few months to be honest.