Update On My Cycle!

tibby25731

Fish Herder
Reaction score
Well I just got back from being away for 4 days. my brother in law successfully did a 25% water change on Saturday. Got home this evening and checked levels. Ammo was only about 0.25. Nitrite was about 2! It has never got to that level. I did a 50% water change and it was still 0.25 so i did another 50% and now it is zero again. I then decided to check pH, its at 6.6. And checked nitrates too... after the water changes - and they are 10! This is the first time I have seen notrates! Looks like things might go faster now, woohoo! Will be checking levels morning and night now to keep on top of things.

Do you have a source of ammonia in the tank? Is this a fishy cycle you are doing? If it is, congrats on approaching a good starting point for your fish. If it is a fishless cycle, its time to add some ammonia to keep things going because there are no fish to provide the load.

Hi. This is fish-in as I am new to fishkeeping and was a little ignorant. I have been waiting almost 2 months to reach this point! My hands are so dry from the daily water changes :( I think the outbreak of ich I had about a month ago set me right back too. I am just so pleased that it is nearly over and I can stop worrying so much!

As soon as the nitrite spike lets up you will be able to start thinking about adding to your fish. A few days later you might actually be ready to add fish when you have proved to yourself that the chemistry is stable. Don't worry too much about the 6.6 pH. Most fish will easily adapt to it.

I already have fish, as a stupid beginner I listened to the lfs and put fish in after a week :(
Good news though. I changed 25% water last night to bring the 0.25 nitrite back down to zero. This morning, ammo and nitrite were zero, and its the same tonight! Woo!

Yeah, lost half of my fish to ich :(