Tropical Frogs - Any Good In A Community Tank?

katt

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to keeping tropical fish, as i've only been at it for about a year.
I've progressed from a 60L tank to a 130L tank and a 17L tank. I have a quiet community tank and have loved the idea of adding a frog to my tank but am un sure if a frog would be ok with my fish?

Has anyone have any experience in this? :rolleyes:

As long as you have peaceful fish that won't nip or bother the frog, they are a great addition to a community tank. The only other problem you might have is feeding, ADF's aren't the most aggressive feeders and you'll need to watch carefully to see that they eat, you may even need to target feed them. Frozen/fresh bloodworms are probably the best food for them.

Oh, almost forgot, when mixing with fish you'll want to get an ADF (African Dwarf Frog), as opposed to an ACF (African clawed frog) which eat fish. Many LFS get their identification wrong, so be sure to take a close look at the frog's front "hands", ADF's have webbed "hands" and stay around 2 inches, while ACF's have individual little "fingers".

are african dwarf frogs the one commonly used as feeds for large fishes?

Brilliant, thanks :good: i've never took the plunge as i was worried about my fish and worried in case i killed the little frog. Everything in my tank is peaceful, i never have problems with bully fish or fin nippers, they even leave my snails alone.

I think i could target feed him ok..... Would i have to feed him worms everyday or would he eat some of the flaked food and pellets i feed my fish?

Katt :rolleyes:

He might eat the pellets, not sure though, depends on the frog. As for feeding, give them a small amount of either frozen blood worms or brine shrimp (thawed of course) every 3-4 days. They're pretty low maintenance pets.

Straydum-Not sure if they are used for feeders or not, I've never heard of it around here.