Temperature Question

The October FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Hydra

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi

I was given a 120litre tank & this is my first time keeping fish.
I bought a filter & 150 watt heater & set the heater to 26, I also bought a tempurature strip you stick on the outside of the tank, that reads 29, I have it on the opposite corner of the tank from my heater.
My question is, should I lower my heater to 22-24 or whatever till the temperature strip reads 26 (26 is what I'm aiming for)?
I've 5 zebra danios & they seem happy but I just thought I'd ask, I'm reading as much as I can on the subject but haven't seen this question answered before.

Any help appreciated.

those temperatue strips are easy to read but I don't have a lot of faith in their accuracy.  I recommend getting a second thermometer like the following link.   It's a bit harder to read but I think it's more accurate.  

http://www.amazon.com/Marina-Floating-Thermometer-Suction-Cup/dp/B0002AQITK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1382323228&sr=8-1&keywords=thermometer+aquarium

It's possible that the settings on your heater are a bit off.  If you get the thermometer suggested above and it still reads different than the setting,  I would adjust the setting until the thermometer reads the temperature you are shooting for.

Fishmanic said:
those temperatue strips are easy to read but I don't have a lot of faith in their accuracy.  I recommend getting a second thermometer like the following link.   It's a bit harder to read but I think it's more accurate.  

http://www.amazon.com/Marina-Floating-Thermometer-Suction-Cup/dp/B0002AQITK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1382323228&sr=8-1&keywords=thermometer+aquarium

It's possible that the settings on your heater are a bit off.  If you get the thermometer suggested above and it still reads different than the setting,  I would adjust the setting until the thermometer reads the temperature you are shooting for.