Stuck With Zebra Danios

lead_and_brush

Reaction score
The person at the chain pet store told me Zebra Danios would be just the thing to add to my platys I had had from the beginning of my tank. I got six of them and they proved to be aggressive. They eventually harried all my platys to death. I'm trying not to be bitter and am wondering where I should go from here with the llittle thugs. I have five Zebras and two chinese algea eaters in a 55 gallon well-established tank. Thanks for any help you can provide.

I'm no expert on danios and I have heard that they can be nippy but are you sure it was the danios that were the problem. Chinese Algae Eaters are nasty fish once they get some size and age on them. They will try to suck the slime coat off slower fish and also try to suck out their eyes.

I'm no expert on danios and I have heard that they can be nippy but are you sure it was the danios that were the problem. Chinese Algae Eaters are nasty fish once they get some size and age on them. They will try to suck the slime coat off slower fish and also try to suck out their eyes.

Ironically, my tank is in my office, and I'm a criminal defense lawyer. So I hate to condemn fish without evidence, but I have seen aggressive behavior aplenty from the danios. I'm afraid the danios are guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.

I got the danios because I thought they would be a peaceful schooling fish, but they don't even like each other.

I have 15 zebra danio and not experienced any aggression from them, they leave all my other fish including my platys alone!

yep ive 30 danios too and no aggression here either, with each other or with other fish, they are in with guppies, endlers, rams, corys, etc, they seem to all be very happy, di

yep ive 30 danios too and no aggression here either, with each other or with other fish, they are in with guppies, endlers, rams, corys, etc, they seem to all be very happy, di