Stocking Questions For A Newbie

Junior Gent

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi everyone

Im new to fish keeping, ive started my fish-less cycle with the very helpfull advise i have recieved on this forum, currently 5ppm of ammonia is clearing within 12 hours, just waiting for the nitrites to follow. I have a 30litre tank
Ive decided to stock
1 x Male Betta
4 x Male endlers
5 x cherry shrimps

What order do you suggest i put them in? My plan is the endlers and shrimps supplimenting the shrimps with discs. Then a short while after add the betta. Could he be added at the same time though? Also whats the best method to transfer him in to the water as they look very delicate fins?

Im currently visiting a selection of LFS to try and find the Betta for me, but as yet i havent seen the right one. I live in Huddersfield Yorkshire England and wondered if anyone knows a good spot to get them. I would love a halfmoon, but i ideally want to see it in real life before purchase.

Sorry for all the questions

JG

That stocking list looks OK to me. Perhaps pushing it a little with the endlers, but I know there are people on here who keep endlers with bettas in 5 gallons, so you should be fine in 8.

Your plan sounds like a good one. Adding the shrimp or endlers fist, should mean that when you add the betta, he sees himself going into 'another territory', thereby theoretically reducing the risk of agression.. My betta was fine when I added tankmates fo his tank, though there is a risk he could see his new tankmates as invading his territory. You could add them all at once, though it wouldn't be so kind on the filter with a sudden bio-load like that to deal with. Adding them gradually sould allow the bacteria to grow steadily, meaning less chance of ammonia/nitrite (etc) spikes.