Stocking Ideas?

puffer duffer

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
hello,im a newbie on here but have kept tropical fish for about 10 years....now my mum has got the fish bug and has gone out and got a 54ltr tank and fluval u2 filter,as i have the same tank and recommended a better filter than the one which comes with it (naming no names) shes nearly finished her fishless cycle (qualifiyng week she hopes!)and shes wants either a pet fish ie 1 intereting fish or a pair of fish,shes not into small schools.........any ideas???? thanks

hello,im a newbie on here but have kept tropical fish for about 10 years....now my mum has got the fish bug and has gone out and got a 54ltr tank and fluval u2 filter,as i have the same tank and recommended a better filter than the one which comes with it (naming no names) shes nearly finished her fishless cycle (qualifiyng week she hopes!)and shes wants either a pet fish ie 1 intereting fish or a pair of fish,shes not into small schools.........any ideas???? thanks

Have you thought about a pair or trio of Apistogramma cacatoides 1m 2 f ratio? Very pretty fish particularly the male.

Puffers! What about 3 dwarf puffers?

What kind of fishless cycle are you doing?

hi,to bricko i will look those up,i have no idea what they are :)....assaye dwarf puffers is what i have in my tank and mums not impressed she says it looks like i have no fish in there lol,cycle done with ammonia added when it goes down....drobbyb i will suggest that to her but i think she wants more unuasual fish...bricko have just looked them up i think u could be on to a winner there.

Hmmm. pH and KH/GH? If low enough, what about a pair of blue rams? Need well planted, acidic, soft water. Not for the faint hearted.

Newts? Odd one and not fish, but undeniably awesome. I have five fire bellied newts and they ROCK. You'd need to make some dry land for them though, and they are NOT tropical (need pretty cold water - 15 C is a good guide).