Silver Dollar with Fin Rot

Snowbrumby

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi All :D

I have a happy 2 ft tank and a very unhappy 3 ft tank. Everything which goes into the 3ft tank dies - either for no reason, white spot or fin rot :( I have now boiled, sun bleached, thrown out and repurchased everything in the tank. Two questions.
1. I still have a Silver Dollar, the last surviour of the tank, which is in an ice-cream container and I have been changing his water twice a day - I don't have any other tank I can use. He doesn't have much left of his tail but he is trying so hard to stay alive - I'm putting this green stuff in his water to try to get rid of the finrot. Does anyone have any other suggestions - I am new to fish keeping.
2. I came to the conclusion that the filter the LFS guy said would be fine for the tank is in fact too small and not up to the job which is why I might be having so much trouble with this tank. Could this be right?? Just don't know what else it could be. I have bought a second little filter which I'm hoping will help. I don't have a test kit - except for PH - as they don't sell them in my little town and have to wait until I can go up to the city again to get one.
Thank you in advance for your advice :D

I think I'm the only one in here :( I forgot to ask, are Danios hardy enough to be the first fish when I finally put fish in the 3ft tank again or should I have a different type of fish?? Any suggestions appreciated thank you :D

Hi there, firstly how long did you cycle the tank and how did you go about it? If you didn't cycle the tank longer enough before adding the fish then this would probably explain the deaths; if there are water quality problems these will make the fish stressed which will bring about desease/sickness in them. Also fish can often be bought suffering from whitespot/finrot with very little noticable signs but as the desease progresses they will become more apparent.