Severums And Cory Cats..

BitterCowgal

Reaction score
I have several Juvenile Green Severums and am wondering what species of fish they could safetly be housed with. I'm a huge fan of Cory cats. Would a shoal of Corys be okay in a tank with Severums? I wonder due to the difference in size as maturity. At the moment my Severums are living with my 3" Channel Catfish and get on well with it. I'll be moving the Severums to a larger tank soon however and the Channel Cat won't be following them to it so I'm trying to figure out some new tankmates. I'd love to add some Corys to the tank if they won't be eaten. The species of Corys that I keep mature at between 1.5" to 2". Any other fish suggestions? I'm relatively new to SA Cichlids.

Thanks in advance..
-Heather

*Note: This is a crosspost between a couple forums. I'm looking to get as many answers as I can. So far nobody on the Cichlid forum has given a definative answer*

I wouldnt keep Cories with Severums. Severums would pick at cories and when they are bigger enough to eat them then its both dangerous for the Sev and Cory.
Channel Catfish would also eat cories without a doubt. You know Channels get to 2ft long dont you?

I wouldnt keep Cories with Severums. Severums would pick at cories and when they are bigger enough to eat them then its both dangerous for the Sev and Cory.
Channel Catfish would also eat cories without a doubt. You know Channels get to 2ft long dont you?

As I said in my original post, the Channel Catfish won't be staying with the Severums much longer. The Severums are moving to a bigger tank while the Channel Cat moves to it's own new bigger home. I'm aware that the catfish will get quite large. I've got a pond lined up for him to move into once he's close to being too large for my tanks. My Severums don't seem to mind the Channel Cat at the moment, they don't pick or seem to care about his presence in any way.

Ok. A pond, cool. Me and my friends are setting up a pond for one.