Really interesting old article on fish food/ingredients

AlexT

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I found this on here, on a thread from 2020. It was @Essjay who referenced the article. You can read the full article here (it takes a while to load) https://web.archive.org/web/20180818083717/http://www.oscarfish.com/fish-food-ingredients.html - I checked with @Essjay if it's okay to post this and we think it is.

What follows below is just a small snipped from the article. These are the bits that interested me the most, especially the discussion about "fish meal". I'll start with the authors own disclaimer. All of the below is a "cut & paste" from the main article I have linked above.

As a disclaimer, I am not a scientist, a biologist, a chemist, or a dietitian. What I am is a hobbyist, an aquarium enthusiast with almost 30 years’ experience with the goal of allowing the fish in my care to live out their life expectancy free of aggression, disease, and environmental or dietary induced ailments. I don't want to be responsible for feeding my fish anything determined by the government as "safe" even though it is banned for human consumption and otherwise labelled by scientific research as even "mildly toxic".

Beware of Proteins

A fish pellet manufactured with poor quality fish meal can be supplemented with high protein grains and by-products resulting in a high protein content listed on the ingredient label. So, you look for those high protein content grains and by-products as a potential warning that a low-quality meal was used. Brewers Dried Yeast (45% protein), Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles (30%), Soy Flour (60%), Wheat Germ (30%) and Soybean Isolate (95%) are some of the most common. An ingredient label with either of these products as one of the first two or three ingredients is suspect.