Rare undescribed plants

elephantnose3334

Fishaholic
Reaction score
Hi @Colin_T,

I had an urge to talk about this subject but it's about the rarest plants in the Wildflower State, two of an undescribed species of plant that you collected from a bush area. Is it okay to do some art on them to see what they looked like in real life, with your permission? I'm no plant expert but the plants you collected were very interesting. There are rare plants in Western Australia, but those two undescribed plants were probably the rarest in the state. I wish I saw them, but I was too young and lived somewhere else in Perth. Will the local bush have undescribed plant species? How can I find new plant species in the bush?

Plants, like animals, are fascinating. I wish I kept rare plants though...

I don't have any pictures of the 2 plants that got thrown out. If you want to try and draw them, go for it but without a picture to guide you, it's going to be hard to get it right.

It's unlikely there will be undescribed species found locally in Perth and the surrounding suburbs because other people will have looked and found them. However, if you go out into the hills past Armadale or down south, there are still plants, animals and insects yet to be discovered.

To find new species you simply look and take pictures. Then you try to identify those plants from the pictures and when you find something you can't identify from a book or online, you contact the WA Herbarium and see if anyone there can ID it. You can also take the picture to a plant nursery and they can sometimes ID plants that aren't in books.

I don't have any pictures of the 2 plants that got thrown out. If you want to try and draw them, go for it but without a picture to guide you, it's going to be hard to get it right.