Questions about setting up my canister filter

enfiskejer

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I've bought a Nautilus 800 Aqua One filter, I've read that the flow goes from bottom to top of the canister. I am a bit confused about which order to place all the media. This is my first time setting up a tank- let alone filter. Its for my 100L low-tech planted community freshwater tank.
Is this right?

Basket 1:
In the basket on the bottom I have the two coarsest sponges

Basket 2:
I have a medium coarse sponge with some bio noodles on the top

Basket 3:
I have some filter wool with some bio balls on the top

I'm in the middle of setting it up so I haven't done anything. Will the bio balls and noodles (since they aren't covered with anything) make excessive noise? Or am I just overthinking it.
Thanks for your feedback :)

It doesn't really matter which way the filter media/ materials go. Most people have sponges at the bottom then ceramic beads and the white filter floss/ matt on top.

The sponges trap the gunk and stop most of it from blocking up the ceramic beads, which are meant to hold beneficial filter bacteria. Then the white filter matt is a polishing media that traps the really fine particles.

Having said that, the good filter bacteria grow on all the filter media so it really doesn't matter if you have the ceramic beads at the bottom or on top. My filters just have sponges in and nothing else.

------------------
Power filters should be cleaned once a month. However, do not clean the filter for the first 6-8 weeks because you can wash out the good filter bacteria before it gets established. Once it is established (after 6-8 weeks), you can clean the filter media and not worry about getting rid of the bacteria.

To clean the filter, turn it off and unplug it.
Remove the hoses from the tank and put them in a clean bucket to collect any water that runs out of the filter.
Carry the filter outside or somewhere you don't mind getting wet.