Newbie Clown Fish + Soft Coral

Uriel

Fish Addict
Reaction score
First i would like to start by saying i have no experience of salt water aquariums aside from what i have researched here and on the internet so if anything i say is wrong or stupid please bear with me.

I would like to setup a small salt water aquarium to house 1 or maybe 2 clown fish, a cleaner crab and a soft coral to possibly eventually host the clown fish. So i had a few questions and also if anyone could offer any hints or do's and don'ts for this sort of setup please do.

1. What sort of size aquarium is a clown fish going to be happy in and how much larger would it need to be for 2. I know people are going to say buy as large an aquarium as you can afford but i already run 2 500l and 1 180l tropicals tanks so i wanted to keep my first marine tank as small as possible.

2. Do i need a sump for this sort of size setup or can most of it be done in tank or with HOB's

3. I've been looking around and most people seem to have RO units to provide themselves with RO water. I was thinking i would rather spend the money getting a larger protien skimmer which i assume would reduce the need for water changes and buy water from LFS. Is this a reasonable assumption or have i missed the point somewhere.

4. I'm a little confused by live rock. First of all ratios some places reccomend getting anywhere from 20/80 to 80/20 of live rock to base rock. Apparently the live rock can seed the base rock. Is this correct ?

5. I was advised to try to get as many different types of live rock as possible as this adds biodiversity is this true ?

6. As i'm in no rush to have fish in this tank can i cure rocks in small ammounts adding a certain ammount every 2 weeks to try and keep from damaging the inhabitants of the live rock with ammonia and nitrite spikes + less smell ect and spreading the cost a little.

7. Is a coral frag a small piece of coral used to grow into a larger piece.