New Bronze Corys

hanny93

Fish Herder
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've just found the cutest pair of Bronze Cory's, I know you have to keep them in groups of 6, but the guy said they'd only just brought 10 out of quarantine yesterday morning and they were down to 2 so I had to get them before they were gone again!

(My lfs doesn't get cory deliveries very often)

However I'm new to keeping them so I was wondering if anyone has any tips/tricks to keep them happy?

I have a 16 gallon tank with sand substrate, plenty of palnts and rocks, 1wpg of light and I feed a couple of pinches of Hikari Micro Wafers a day.
There are currently 4 mollies and 3 guppies and few hitchhiking snails that appeared overnight!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also, if I have an ich breakout, what do I do? I've read in lots of places that meds can burn their skin :/

There are thousands of references on the care of Corydoras on the web. Google is your friend. You'll find that you'll get responses after you do your initial research and then return to have specific topics explained further. Additionally, you'll find that your question has been asked and answered hundreds of times on this forum.

Searching the forum would be a good place to start. Cheers. - Frank

I've actually spent rather a lot of time trawling Google and this forum and either got conflicting information from the internet or answers that weren't specific to my questions e.g. i asked for general care of corys to keep them in tip top condition, all the answers on here that I can find are for panda cories etc or rarer species than bronze cories.

All I asked for was a bit of help in keeping my fish ahppy, isnt that what this forum is for?

Keep your water clean feed them quality food mix in some frozen blood worms on occasion and get a few more when you can that should keep them fat and happy.