Looking For A Snail

jordan.m

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hey all,

I have a bit of an algae problem on my rocks and the walls of the tank... I have heard good things about snails (most notably George Farmer's nano tank) but I'm afraid of ending up with 400 snails in my tank.

What is a good algae-cleaning snail that is not likely to reproduce by the hundreds?

Thanks,
Jordan

Nerite snails are excellent algae eaters and don't breed in the aquarium. Some report laying of eggs that can be unsightly and stubborn to remove, but I have no experience of this personally.

They shouldn't eat the plant, well they haven't in my tank anyway. You can either get them from Aquaessentials.co.uk or snailshop.co.uk. I've had excellent service from both :)

Sam

I got a black mystery snail, hopefully he won't eat my plants!! :p

Hey Jordan,

I have a heavily planted twenty gallon with three mystery snails (aka known as apple snails). They don't eat live plant matter (although they will eat some dead or dying plant matter, which I think is a good thing), and they are not hermaphroditic (meaning they have to have both a male and female snail to produce eggs).

If you're like me and have more than one, and they do breed, you can prevent yourself from having snail babies by not allowing much space between the water line and the canopy on your tank. Apple snails need a warm, moist but not wet place to lay their eggs, so if you deny them a place that fits those specs they won't reproduce. Occasionally mine have crawled out of the tank during the night and laid eggs on the side of the hang-on back filter, and then crawled back in the tank. I then just scrape the eggs off with a paper towel (although i doubt that area is moist enough for the eggs to stay viable).

hope that helps!

Mike

Cool, thanks for the great info Mike!

After adding your snails, did you notice a significant difference in the cleanliness of the inside of your tank? If so, how long did it take?

Jordan