Looking for a Pair of Dwarf Cichlids

FoundMoney

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I have a recently established 30 gallon tank that contains 8 Flame Tetras and a bristlenose catfish. The tank also is moderately planted with some anacharis, hornwort, sword plants, Vallisneria and dwarf sag. The pH is slightly basic at about 7.2-7.4, which I know is not generally conducive to dwarf cichlids, but I'm a newbie with a new tank and don't want to mess around with pH too much. The pH has been stable for the past month.

I was thinking of adding a pair of Apistogramma cacatuoides. Will this fish be OK in slightly basic water? Can anyone suggest any other small cichlids? In a 30 gallon with 8 tetras and the bn catfish, can I add more than 2 without overstocking?

Any suggestions and advice are appreciated.

Cockatoo cichlids would be great in there, but I would recommend that you have 2-3 females per one male :) They would love all of those plants and shouldn't mind the slightly higher pH. Acclimate them to the tank slowly just in case (with any dwarf cichlid) :)

I mentioned having 2 or 3 females to 1 male to my guy at the LFS. He said they would pair up and that the other females would be "obsolete", if a fish can be so. He's been pretty good so far and was supportive of my fishless cycling, which many of the other stores didn't recommend. I guess nobody can know it all. Thanks for the vote of support!

Cockatoos will be fine in that pH and will probably even breed in it. I would leave your pH alone, there is no need to mess with it for these fish.