Live Rock Hitchikers Id Please

ozzy47

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi i got a few kilos of fijian lr on thursday and tonight i have noticed a few hitchhikers on the rock and i am unsure what they are and if they are good or bad in my tank i will include pictures they are not great but i am still getting used to the camera, but should be good enough to id. the first pic i think is a pulsing polyp? the second we only noticed about 10 minutes ago crawling over the rock, it moves almost slug like not sure if it is some kind of slug or not anyway thanks to all who can help.

stewy

the slug???????????

Attachments

• Picture_004.jpg
    Picture_004.jpg
    56.9 KB · Views: 32
  • Picture_005.jpg
    Picture_005.jpg
    62.5 KB · Views: 42
first pic looks kinda like anemone i think.....

i'm not a saltwater expert. the second one is definatly a slug. i remember reading about a slug that looks like that before, don't remember much, but i think it's safe. looks kinda cool actually. i'd do a google search of live rock hitchikers, saltwater slug list, and things like that maby. good luck!

i'm not a saltwater expert. the second one is definatly a slug. i remember reading about a slug that looks like that before, don't remember much, but i think it's safe. looks kinda cool actually. i'd do a google search of live rock hitchikers, saltwater slug list, and things like that maby. good luck!

the first looks like a pulsing xenia.

sometimes i wonder WHY people have to use scientific names insted of just saying the common name. some people say goldfish, but others say Carassius auratus auratus. well god dangit, just say goldfish :angry:

sometimes i wonder WHY people have to use scientific names insted of just saying the common name. some people say goldfish, but others say Carassius auratus auratus. well god dangit, just say goldfish :angry:

Because Scientific names can often stop confusion.

Second looks like it might be a nudibranch rather than a slug?