How Big For An Upstairs Tank?

BlueRam

Reaction score
What sort of weight will the joists support on the upper floor of a house? My problem is that I can only have a tank if it goes upstairs in the office. I have worked out that I could fit a 120 wide x 40 deep x 50 high tank which is about 230 litres? I assume if loaded up, the whole tank and all the equipment could work out to be 500kg. Now I can situate this tank across 3 joists but is that too much weight to go upstairs in one place?

To me (a complete novice when coming to these things!) it should be fine. I mean, that is about 7 people standing in one area of a room.

I just dont want it landing downstairs in my lounge!

depends on it's position in the building a bit i think, if it's above or next to structural walls it's less likely to fall through.

not quite the same as 7 people standing there, cos it'd be 7 people standing there all the time. buildings might be designed to cope with the load of lots of people, but only temporarily, i think the prolonged weight would make a difference.

Saying this I haven't a bloody clue if it'd fall down or not, I'll send my fella this topic though, he's a builder so might have a better idea

The tank is unlikely to fall through, the floor joists would bow and cause the stand to bow, thus ending with a cracked tank and water on the floor.

I would not want a great deal over 130 Imp gallons on upstairs floors.

I did worry when I set up a 3x2x2 stacked with a 48x15x18 and a 24x12x12 sump upstairs but then thought about my 6x2x2 which only has 4x2 as the main construction. The floor joist are either 8x2 or 10x2 so should hold 150 imp gallons ok. Just make sure you run across joists and try and get near a wall.

Hey,