Hmmmmmmm Who’s Right Me Or Lfs

piper

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I’m new to all this but have been researching for about 3months before starting my first Tropical Tank. I’m hoping to start cycling my 70 Gal (US) tank next weekend. So thought I would pop into my LFS and get some ammonia so I can start cycling as soon as I’m ready.

After asking for ammonia for a fishless cycle he looked at me and said I got it all wrong and need to get some fish and stick some “Cycle formula in” with them.

I tried to explain what I thought was right about the ammonia acting as fish (or fish poop) and that this would allow bacteria to build up in the filter media, which would then start to kill of the ammonia, allowing me to safely add fish a few weeks later.

He insisted this was wrong, so I made my excuses and left him with his formula.

Well was I wrong, is this not how a fishless cycle works ???????? :huh:

No you are not wrong, as you won't be going to the lfs to replace the dead fish the cycle killed, that's all he bothered about.

Yeah I read that thread thanks Kris (and many others like it).The joker at the store just made me reconsider my knowledge, we were in quite a heated debate before I left him to it.

Cant belive I forgot about Homebase, I worked there for 7 years LOL

Unfortunately, quite a lot (won't say most because I don't want to offend our members that work in fish stores) of the people who work in LFSs (and especially LPS that sell fish) don't know a lot about the hobby. You would think that a true LFS would go to extra lengths though to make sure their employees were trained and knowledgable but I guess it's just like most businesses. They give new employees a bare minimum of training, just enough to make them dangerous.

Yeah I understand that in any business there are people that don’t know what they are doing. But the person I was talking with wasn’t some spotty 16 yr old; he was the owner of the store.