Hi there, Newbie here with daft questions.

RIngrey

Reaction score
Hi, I have been keeping fish for the past 12 months since purchasing a small tank for my daughter. As is the case for most things children soon lose interest in such things and as a result I have taken over the mantle of household fish keeper.
I’m not going to lie I love looking after these little creatures and having done so for a sustained period of time I decided to buy a larger tank. I’m now the proud owner of a 180L tank.
I’ve cycled the tank using the media from the smaller tank, with the added help from Seachem stability I’ve successfully completed my new tank nitrogen cycle with the help from a few platy’s.
The tank is now 10 weeks old. I’ve a sand substrate with 10 cryptocorynes and 7 vallisneria plants flourishing. I have a nice rock formation, a downed Thunderbolt WWII aircraft and a piece of wood to finish off the landscape.
So far over the course of the past 10 weeks I have added a total of 5 Platy’s, 5 Neon Tetras, 2 Amano Shrimp, 3 Longfin Bronze Corys and a golden nugget pleco. I test my water perimeters everyday and all values are perfect (ammonia 0ppm, Nitrite 0ppm and Nitrate varies 0-25ppm) and carry out a 10% water change twice a week.
I have a total of 16 fish in the tank. Is there scope to adding anymore fish? I’d say that discounting substrate, plants and decoration I have Cora 160L of water in the tank.

Welcome to the forum! Your tanks sounds very nice. If it were me, I would wait a few months. I keep heavily planted tanks with a low bioload. But if you want to add more fish, neon tetras will be a good bet. Not sure about the compatibility of your Corys and the plec. One of the other members might provide more insight into that aspect.