Hello! And pleco help?

Saydums

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm extremely new to this forum stuff but wanting to give it a go and hopefully get some insight in to how to get the most out of our aquarium.

Myself and my partner have had fish for a good roughly 4 years now, and have worked out way up to a big 300L (I think that's the size, it's a big tank around 5ft long) Set up. We were complete newbies when we started and done a lot of learning along the way. The one issue we are having is plecos - I can't seem to keep them and just looking for suggestions as to why. I've tried several over the years and I'd say the longest we've been able to keep them is about 6 months...I've kept a good eye on them and ensured they look healthy and to me they always do, I'm sure there has always been plenty of algae for them because once I loose the one we have everything gets covered quite quickly. Especially the wood and back glass. We usually also get the algae wafers too and feed them a couple times a week or so, and we also have a couple of bottom feeders so use catfish pellets too so assuming they can eat those? But we also have some very greedy fish...

I'm not a pro at this so I'll answer any questions to the best of my knowledge

If it helps, I've tried to list a bit of what we have
External hydra filter 500
We have the spray bar high to help with oxygen in the tank and move the water
Sand substrate
No live plants
Loads of driftwood of different sizes/age
I keep the tank to 26⁰C
Monthly water changes (as advised by the shop when we got the tank and filter)

The fish
We have 1 Oscar
2 silver dollars
3 tinfoil barbs
2 torpedo barbs
1 spotted loach
1 catfish (spotty)
2 gourami
2 sharks (silver and black)
2 angel fish
A couple more that I'm useless and can't work out what they are

Hopefully I've done this right - any help or advice would be gratefully received.