Guidance With Starting A Tank

Sheblom

Reaction score
hey guys
I am a complete and utter newbie! never had a tank in my life! and i have purchased a Betta whiched i have dubbed crabs1 but the small tank is way to small! so i want to start a small tropical tank! I want to get a 50l tank, with gravel rocks and plants[fake or real, which is better]! i have only had my betta for a few days now, but i have come quite attached to him! so i want to make it as easy and effortly for him to adapt to his soon to be new home!

So what i need is the basics to make mu betta a good home! i am also thinking of getting some albino corydaras and maybe a plecostomus to keep him company! so how will i set about getting evating setup once i have my tank, heater, filter etc? I have heard of a process called cycling?? so if anyone can help me with a step by step, that would be awsome!
thank you very much!
Sheblom

Hi, what size tank ishe in now?
You can read about cycling Here
I dont think there are any plecs that can go in a 50l, Maybe a Bristlenose plec? But you could fit a few cory's in there, he shouldn't bother them. You will probably need a heater, and if your going to have a filter in the 50l, make sure the output isnt too strong as Betta's prefer calm water. Also be carfull when choosing other tank mates for your betta, they dont like most other fish, you can read about it here
All Bettas need for a good home is good, clean water, a few plants mayber (fake or real, if fake get silk as plastic ones are sharp)

HTH :good:

Hi, what size tank ishe in now?
You can read about cycling Here