Gravel

Toploadertom

Reaction score
Would it be safe to change the gravel in my tank? The gravel in there at the moment is very dark coloured & I fany getting some lighter stuff. Would this affect the fish in any way?

You can change it without much problems. It's actually harder to get the gravel out than to put the new gravel in. Just make sure you rinse the new gravel good so you don't get cloudy water. The only potential for problems is if you have an undergravel filter. In that case, you would be removing a vast majority of your beneficial bacteria which would cause the tank to cycle again.

Once you have finished with the change, turn the lights out so the fish can settle down as they will be somewhat stressed with all the stuff you are doing in the tank..

Well has the gravel been there for a long time? Though I'm no expert, I'm worrying about a few things:

-Changing the gravel may harm the biological bacteria cycle. At least that's what I was told.
-Overly bright or Flamboyant colors may stress out your fish... How would you like to stare at a shiny, hotpink surface for days on end?

The best of luck with your aquarium! :nod:

Unless the filter is a UGF, there is only a minute amount of bacteria in the gravel. Most is in/on the filter/media. I agree about the bright gravel. Most bottom dwellers do prefer a darker substrate rather than something like white sand or gravel.

Thanks for the advice guys. I was thinking of maybe a creamy/grey colour. I dont have an under gravel filter so that wont be a problem. I may leave it now though. Dont want to upset my plec with a light colour!

Although I do like the idea of replacing the gravel with sand. :D

Sorry to hijack the post here but I was thinking I might change from gravel to a sand substrate or something. I suppose with that I'd have to remove the fish and the water from the dank otherwise the sand just wouldn't settle?