First Tank - Pet Shop Wrong?

DJackson

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm new to tropical fish tank keeping and I'm hoping for a little guidance.
My Dad has kept them for years, and he lent me a few books to get started before jumping in.

I have a 50L tank which I set up and began fish less cycling as per a lot of information I'd read.
I have two pieces of bog wood, and a plant. At this stage, it had only been going a week.
I went to a local store to purchase a new plant as it was a little sparse. I hadn't been there before as I moved house recently, and started the tank soon after.

I asked a lot of questions to compare the information I'd been reading, and the fish store advised to get 8 starter fish.
I discussed what I'd read about fish less cycling, and he assured me that the best thing to do in practice was in fact to purchase 8 small fish, and test/20% change daily until the cycling has completed.
I questioned whether 8 would be too many even for fish cycling, and he assured me this was not a problem provided I tested and changed the water as required.
He advised that fish less cycling is not necessary and takes about two months. (I've read that's not the case).

So against my better judgement I did what he said and purchased 4 neons and 4 x-ray tetras (still young, just over 1cm).

They were understandably stressed yesterday and I've kept a very close eye on how they're behaving as I feel that it was not correct advise to buy 8 fish while the tank is in such early stage of cycling.

Today, they are not very active and are sat at the bottom of the tank. They don't appear to be gasping, rather just quite inactive.
The ammonia is very low, nitrites are apparently 0 while the nitrates are at 10mg/l.
The water is a little too acidic I think? It's at 6.4.
General hardness is 0.
Chlorine is 0
Temperature is 25'c.

As far as I can tell, everything is ok for now, but I'm going to have to keep a very close eye over the next few weeks.