First Marine Experience

JJ56

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hey, some of you may remember my topic on what I should do to start a small reef tank.

So, after lots of reading up, asking questions and pestering, I'm setting out on my first marine tank, and I hope to keep updating this journal.

Heres what I have bought.

New 32 x 12 x 15 unbranded tank from my local fish store
8kg of Aragonite crushed coral gravel
1 of the powerheads, donated to me, maxijet 1000, but needs mounting hardware

SN150447.jpg

SN150448.jpg

SN150449.jpg

So, next on my list: (please make suggestions on this)

Polystyrene / Styrofoam to insulate / level underneath the tank.
Black / blue background for the tank.
Heater (s?), need to look up what size I'll need.
Another powerhead, maybe two
(Lighting? I have little knowledge on marine lighting as I use plain old flourescent tubes on my FW tanks)
RO water and marine salt
Hydrometer and full test kit

Then of course Live rock, clean up crew etc, but I'm still looking at hardware at the moment.

I hope some of you can point me in the right direction with this, I'm bowing dwon to superior knowledge and learning all of the time.

Thanks

JJ

A lot of these variables (i.e. lighting, flow) have everything to do with your stocking choices. What do you plan on keeping? Corals?

Yes, I know lighting is something at should relate directly to my livestock, heres what I'm thinking:

Tank will have the appropiate amount of live rock to begin with, and Ill leave it for a while whilst I get the water right. I will then start adding soft corals, nothing which requires very high light. Any reccomendations? The tank is only 15" high so it doesn't need to penetrate far.

From my little experience, I think T5's should be enough to support soft corals? Correct me here if I am wrong. They will only need to support soft corals and polyps.