Doing water changes with pump

Fishguy2

Reaction score
Hello I have a large a aquarium and I can't carry buckets anymore. So I have been putting a bucket in the kitchen sink getting the temperature right then leaving the bucket to over fill. Then I put a pump in and pump the water directly to the fish tank adding the tap safe to the tank. Is this safe for the fish and beneficial bacteria. It's the same as filling up my pond

You can buy a hose, and an attachment to connect it to a sink. Run it with the right temp mix, and just dechlorinate the tank so the chlorine hits the chems upon arrival. I've been doing it for 20 years - no issues.
The connectors come from the garden place (quick release hose connections) and you need a food grade hose. Ones made for aquariums are not cheap, but quite good. Avoid the aqueon brand ones and go with python, if you take that route. Your back will sing its praises.

Hello Fishguy. I understand the bucket method. It's too much work. The way you're doing things now is fine. The water treatment works on contact with the water, so your fish won't be hurt at all. As long as the new water is within a few degrees of whats already in the tank, you're good. I got away from the buckets and now use a python. It's just a tube that I run from the tank to the drain in the shower. I can remove half the water in a large tank in less than 30 minutes. After adding the water treatment directly into the tank, I use a garden hose with a faucet attachment and fill the tank with new water. I can usually do several tanks in a couple of hours.

10 Tanks (Now 11)

dechlorinate the tank so the chlorine hits the chems upon arrival. I've been doing it for 20 years - no issue

Hi Gary, when you dechlorinate the tank before adding in the new tap water. Do you you add a dosage that covers the whole tanks volume, or do you add a dosage that covers only the volume of the water that you are adding ?